A challenge has been made

The Challenge: Design 365 Thank Cards

The hardest thing for any designer is to keep their creative juices flowing. Unfortunately, mine stopped running a few months ago. I’m not entirely sure what happened, but I’ve had a hard time giving myself the push I needed to start designing again, until today.

I decided that maybe it was time for me to create my own personal design challenge that could get my creative juices flowing and push my skills as a designer as hard and far as I could.

I’m not gonna lie. I have no idea if I will make it until the year of the year, but I’m really going to try my hardest to pull this off.

You’re probably wondering why I choose my theme as “Thank You” cards instead of a calendar.

That’s a simple answer.

It’s been done before.

My colleague, Andrea Cutler, whom I met years ago at the How Design Conference in Las Vegas, pushed herself to do a yearly calendar challenge. Personally, I was impressed with her designs and determination to fulfill the commitment.

So, I had to find something different to do.

Then it dawned on me. Why not create a “Thank You” card challenge?!?!?

Honestly, people send out just about every card you can imagine, but we tend to forget to send out one of the most important card that was ever created – The Thank You card. It’s a great marketing tool for every business owner to send clients at any time of the year. There is no rhyme or reason for a Thank You card. It doesn’t matter what design is on the cover, what matters most is the message inside to the recipient.

So, my goal is to design a 4 x 6 ready-to-print Thank You card for 365 days.

I don’t have a plan.

I’m going to just open Illustrator and give myself no more than two hours to see what I create as the final design.

The purpose for me is to see how my design progress evolves.

So, let the journey begin!

Inspired by New Year's Day

01.01.14 Inspired by New Year’s Day
© 2014 StacySchilling

Leave a Reply

