Day 9: Patterns inspire me

Today I wore my favorite scarf. It’s black and white with a Chevron pattern and clear sequins stitched in. It looks better than I describe it (and I’m too lazy to take a photo and post it).

I’m a sucker for a good Chevron pattern design. I don’t know what it is, but I gravitate towards that pattern because it’s a bold, graphic print.

I like bold, graphic prints.

That style tends to show up in my work, a lot.

I can’t help it. I’m attached to the unusual styles.

Anyway, since I have already done a black and white card I decided that I would mix the Chevron pattern with the 1970s.

I know, the 70s, such bad design, bad color, bad clothes, and bad hairstyles. But hey, who doesn’t love “That 70s Show”?!?!?

The 1970s were known for dark, muted colors such as burnt orange, browns, mustard yellows, and who cannot forget, avocado green. Ugh…avocado green appliances and carpeting were the rage back then, and today that color would make someone gag unless they were eating an actually avocado.

Anyway, design in the 70s was about crazy patterns because designers we transitioning out of the 1960s. Everything ugly you can imagine is found in the 1970s.

The plan for today’s card was to make it better than what many people remember from the past, but still resemble the 70s.

01.09.14 Inspired by my scarf and the 1970s © 2014 Stacy Schilling

01.09.14 Inspired by my scarf and the 1970s
© 2014 Stacy Schilling

2 thoughts on “Day 9: Patterns inspire me

Leave a Reply

