Day 16: Exploring the use of patterns

I typically don’t use a lot of patterns in my design work, but I’ve noticed that they can really change how the finished project is perceived.

I’m now finding myself gravitating towards creating my own patterns and stepping outside my comfort zone more than usual as I exploring the use of patterns and nontraditional colors in my work. I admit that some patterns may not be as successful as others, or my designs may lack something powerful. But, this project is a journey for me to become a better designer and push myself beyond my comfort level. The design may be blah, but the color scheme might work for another design project or vice versa. It’s all about experimenting and opening up my creative juices and keep them flowing.

If I want to continue creating design projects for clients that are happy with me and most importantly, my work, then I have to work hard at becoming a better designer.

Remember, practice makes perfect.

01.16.14 Inspired by patterns © 2014 Stacy Schilling

01.16.14 Inspired by patterns
© 2014 Stacy Schilling

Leave a Reply

