Day 19: I saw inspiration in my grandmother’s tablecloth

When I moved into my house, my mom gave me me something very special for my kitchen table: her mother’s vintage tablecloths.

Yeah, yeah…it’s a tablecloth. No big deal you say.

It may seem like no big deal to you, but the colors and pattern are very reminiscent of the 1950s. The tablecloth has the cool, cheeky retro vibe and the illustration was probably either done by hand or silkscreen in those days.

I didn’t want to reproduce an exact replica of the tablecloth, just use the colors and design for inspiration. So my flowers are loosely based on some from that time period and the color palate is almost dead one. The design is almost reminiscent of the 1950s in Hawaii, but with a modern twist.

01.19.19  Inspired by my grandmother's tablecloth © 2014 Stacy Schilling

01.19.19 Inspired by my grandmother’s tablecloth
© 2014 Stacy Schilling

Leave a Reply

