Day 22: Artists always inspire other artists

In case many of you don’t know, I am not just a Graphic and Web designer trying to show off my skills.

I am also a traditional fine artist.

I have done everything from printing making, drawing (charcoal – my favorite medium to work with, conté crayon, alpha high grays, pastels, graphite, colored and drawing pencils, and ink), painting (acrylic, oil and mixed media), and photography (black/white film and digital). It’s kind of a rare trait when an artist can also work as a digital designer too.

Most fine artists love, love, LOVE working with their traditional mediums and are very talented. The same goes with those working on the digital side, except very few from each side of the spectrum can and do make a successful transition from one medium to the other.

I’ve actually been creating art and design all my life, it just wasn’t until late in college when I realized it looking back at my previous school art projects.

Plus I come from a line of artists. On my mother’s side, my grandfather’s sisters and their children are all fine artists. I’m the only one in the family that uses both traditional and digital mediums in my work.

I’m probably one of the very few artists that will flip a painting or drawing upside to work on it. I did that in my college painting class and my professor, Kevin Muente thought I was nuts. I learned that trick in my seventh grade art class from my teacher, Mrs. Schwartz. I loved her class and learned so much that I still use some of the tips in my work today.

Aside from my artistic and digital side, I also have done tons of arts & crafts in my life including counted cross stitch, needlepoint, and latch hook.

And yes, there have been times in my life when I stopped working as a fine artist and found it increasingly difficult to get back into it.

The first occurred in the eighth grade when my art teacher really criticized my work and made me feel like a failure. Her words really hurt so bad that I stopped doing my artwork for years. It wasn’t until I was in college when I was working on my first Bachelor’s degree in Journalism where I felt the need to get back into art. I started with a drawing class.

Years later after working in the graphic design industry for three years, I felt the need to go back to school for a second Bachelor’s degree in graphic design because many companies in the Cincinnati market wouldn’t hire you unless you had that piece of paper.

So, I went back and took all the art classes I could and had to, and in the process become a better artist and designer.

But three years ago my life got busy with personal things and I stopped painting because I didn’t have the time or drive to do it.

However, thanks to this project and pushing myself out of my comfort zone, I started painting again!!!! 🙂

Nothing fancy, but I decided that my bathroom walls needed some artwork and have four 11 x 14 blank canvas’ that would work. I chose acrylic paint instead of oil because 1). It drys fast., and 2). I didn’t want oil paintings to get ruined from the steam in the shower.

When the work is complete, I will post pictures.

Here’s the link to my artwork which is all available for sale, except the drawing “There’s a Monster in My Closet” because the glass broke and needs to be reframed.

https://artiststacycschilling.shutterfly.com

So, today’s design is inspired from the Dutch artist period, De Stijl, where they used boxes and primary colors.

01.22.14 Inspired by the De Stijl Dutch style © 2014 Stacy Schilling

01.22.14 Inspired by the De Stijl Dutch style
© 2014 Stacy Schilling

Leave a Reply

