Day 40: I went totally opposite of retro design

I need to stop working on these thank you cards after 11:00 p.m. at night.

As much as I enjoy designing late into the night, there are days when I need to get to bed by midnight because I have to be up early the next morning.

And I hate mornings! I am NOT a morning person. Grrrr…mornings are not fun. My creativity usually peaks around 4:00 p.m. and last well into the wee hours of the evening, but when I get tired, I need to stop and go to bed. Once in a while, I’ll get a second wind and then be up for hours designing until the sun comes up.

Okay, enough about my sleep patterns.

Today’s design is NOT about retro design. Yeah!!! I broke the streak…but maybe only for a day.

But at any rate, I decided to let a graphic designer whose work is beyond well-known in the industry and a master all on his own inspire me, Saul Bass.

Now Saul Bass is an amazing designer and his work can be seen everywhere: Dixie, Girl Scouts of the USA, Lawry’s Foods, Quaker Oats, United Airlines and so much more. Bass was also the one responsible for creating all of Alfred Hitchcock’s famous movie posters, and he even created a font called “Hitchcock”. His work is still very recognizable and appreciated by many graphic designers. If only he was still alive I would have loved to interview him and have an opportunity to pick his brain about how he developed such a unique design style. He could have been a great mentor. Oh well, one day.

In the meantime, here is my attempt at a Saul Bass inspired “Thank You” card.

02.09.14 Inspired by Saul Bass © 2014 Stacy Schilling

02.09.14 Inspired by Saul Bass
© 2014 Stacy Schilling

Leave a Reply

