Day 146: Surprises happen when you least expect it

I hate surprises!

Who came up with the idea of surprises needs to hide out before I find them because I do not like them.

However, on the flip side, I did have a nice surprise today.

On a really rare night when we all have a moment, I had dinner with my family. It’s literally been months since we’ve done a family dinner and it was a nice surprise.

Growing up, someone once gave us the idea that anyone in the family at anytime could call out “family night” and we would have to drop what we were doing and have dinner together. It didn’t matter where we went, usually whoever called “family night” got to choose the restaurant, and then we would spend time together eating and talking. It was a lot of fun and when my brother had kids, we included them too.

I normally don’t join in family night much anymore mostly because my schedule is so busy and I work nights. But when my schedule allows it, I try to make time.

And I surprised myself with another surprise when I actually sat down and wrote an article tonight.

For the past four years, I have been writing three columns for the Examiner.com: LA Marketing, Jobs and Small Business Examiner. My schedule has been so busy and I haven’t had the energy to write an article until today. And in case you’re wondering what qualifies this graphic designer as a writer, well I hate to break it to you but I do have a Bachelor of Arts in Journalism.

So, I have plenty of writing experience under my belt.

I’ve written for my college newspaper, yearbook and radio stations, and the copy for several client’s projects.

But my passion still is art and design.

Here is today’s card.

Graphic Designer & Production Artist "From idea to page – flawless digital/print design & production."

Graphic Designer & Production Artist
“From idea to page – flawless digital/print design & production.”

05.28.14 Inspired by a logo design © 2014 Stacy Schilling

05.28.14 Inspired by a logo design
© 2014 Stacy Schilling

Leave a Reply

