Day 173: See you in Paradise Stu

When I woke up this morning I had a text message from my mom letting me know that Stu, my uncle, had passed away last night.

Stu was 67 years old and died of a long, hard battle of colon cancer.

He will be sorely missed by my aunt, cousin, and the rest of his family. Death is heartbreaking for anyone no matter what color you are, how old you are or where you live. It hurts us in ways we can’t even explain and just plain sucks.

Stu had a career as an Engineer for over 30 years before he retired in 2009 from the Los Angeles Fire Department. He worked mostly for Station 58 and 43 in West Los Angeles, close to his home and family.

Today’s card is inspired by Stu for two things important to him: His family and his career as a firefighter.

See you in paradise Stu!

Graphic Designer & Production Artist "From idea to page – flawless digital/print design & production."

Graphic Designer & Production Artist
“From idea to page – flawless digital/print design & production.”

06.24.14 Inspired by Stu, my uncle © 2014 Stacy Schilling

06.24.14 Inspired by Stu, my uncle
© 2014 Stacy Schilling

Leave a Reply

