Day 187: Learn to take more breaks

I’ve found that if I continue to push myself constantly I end up with burnt out syndrome.

I don’t like feeling that way, and although I feel like I should be doing something productive constantly, I just can’t keep going.

For me, I’ve learned to take more breaks and do something that has nothing to do with work and just try and relax. Taking more breaks away from the computer gives me and my mind a chance to decompress so that when it’s time to start working on a project, I can be excited about working on it and really give a 110% and beyond.

So far I’ve made a banana bread and am about to sit outside in the sun and soak up a few rays while reading a book.

I have a good relationship with the sun and some of my best creative ideas happen while I’m sitting outside enjoying it’s beautiful rays.

Unfortunately, it’s too late for me to go to the pool because I let the wind and clouds keep me away and I have to get ready for work in an hour. But I’m going to take advantage of the hour I have at home on the deck and enjoy it.

Today’s card is inspired by a girl’s bedroom. I was immediately drawn to the color palate of green, green and bright yellow. I used elements from the bedroom as inspiration in my card as I put a group of flowers inside text with a drop shadow behind it. As you already know, I have a thing for stripes. So the stripes in my card are inspired by ones that were on a pillow going vertical. I just changed the direction of mine to fit within the card’s design. And no, that’s not a plain white background. Instead, I used a very pale blue just like in the wall paint.

Anyway, here it is.

Until tomorrow, learn to take more breaks and you never know where your inspiration will come from.

Graphic Designer & Production Artist "From idea to page – flawless digital/print design & production."

Graphic Designer & Production Artist
“From idea to page – flawless digital/print design & production.”

07.08.14 Inspired by a girl's bedroom © 2014 Stacy Schilling

07.08.14 Inspired by a girl’s bedroom
© 2014 Stacy Schilling

Leave a Reply

