Day 191: Gold is glamorous

Honestly, I’m not a huge fan of gold. Yellow gold that is. I do own some yellow gold jewelry I’d gotten from family when I was growing up, but I don’t wear it anymore for the fact that it doesn’t fit. I have a necklace that can be used as a noose around my neck because it’s too short to wear now.

I mean, yeah, gold is nice. However, I’m just not a fan of it. I guess maybe because it’s so popular and overused. I’m more of a silver or platinum kind of girl.

Anyhow, I saw a picture of a table dressed to the nines covered in gold. Gold trimmed china, gold candles, gold tablecloth, etc, etc, etc…but it was done tastefully, not tacky.

Well, I decided to find inspiration in the gold to make today’s card.

I wanted to make the card as elegant as possible without overdoing it. Now, the color online may not appear to be gold, but I assure you, it is. I used a metallic gold Pantone from my Pantone Color book so when the card is printed on the press, it will look like metallic gold.

Side note:  Colors that appear online will always look brighter because monitors and tablet screens use RGB (Red, Green, and Blue) to create color. When you take something like a business card or brochure to the printer, the colors will appear a little more duller and muted because the printer uses CMYK (Cyan, Magenta, Yellow, and Black). In order to get a color to look like it does on–screen, the printer will have to do a match print and adjust the ink and density on the press.

Okay, back to my card.

Here it is.

Graphic Designer & Production Artist "From idea to page – flawless digital/print design & production."

Graphic Designer & Production Artist
“From idea to page – flawless digital/print design & production.”

07.12.14 Inspired by a table © 2014 Stacy Schilling

07.12.14 Inspired by a table
© 2014 Stacy Schilling

 

Leave a Reply

