Day 195: Step outside your door and see the world

There is so much inspiration in the world, it’s funny how you can miss it if you’re too busy with life.

For example, I was walking outside enjoying the wonderful weather we’re having for July, and I noticed an interesting pattern on glass by the front door of someone’s home. The pattern had a retro vibe feel to me, and it gave me today’s inspiration.

I was drawn to the shape because it screamed “I’m retro” at me. So, I decided to put the pattern into today’s design.

Since the time period during the 1940s was mute – mostly dark muted colors with no punch of color, I chose a color palate of blue-grayish, light tan and white. To break up the retro feel, I used a script font called “Flemish Script” instead of one like Futura or Bodoni to create a juxtaposition within the design itself.

Okay, here it is.

Wait! I almost forgot that I added an image in the header of my blog. I was tired to seeing an empty white space at the top of the blog above the title that I decided it needed some color. So, I took thumbnails from some of the cards that I have already designed and showed the text “Thank You” clearly in view and used them in the header. On a side note: The image header may change again at some point. Keep reading my blog to find out when and what I put up there.

Let me know what you think.

Graphic Designer & Production Artist "From idea to page – flawless digital/print design & production."

Graphic Designer & Production Artist
“From idea to page – flawless digital/print design & production.”

07.16.14 Inspired by a pattern on a glass window © 2014 Stacy Schilling

07.16.14 Inspired by a pattern on a glass window
© 2014 Stacy Schilling

Leave a Reply

