Day 210: Creativity comes from within, inspiration is everywhere

You can be inspired at everything you look at from a piece of clothing, television ad, and even a plant. You’re creativity is inside you waiting to come out and explore the world, it just takes the right inspiration to pull it completely out of you.

Try that with your own work, even if you’re not a creative person you can still find inspiration for your personal or professional life.  All it takes is one inspiration, sometimes the right one, for a flood of ideas to coming pouring out.

Take my Thank You card for example. Some days I’m really inspired by what I see, and other days it’s a struggle to put something decent together that I’m proud of.

Today I was inspired by a shirt at work. I was digging through the boxes of new shipment in the back and pulled out a cute black, white and gray stripped shirt. I was immediately drawn to the color palate because I love the color gray, but unfortunately, we don’t bring in enough clothing with shades of gray. I’m waiting for an entire line to come in with just grays. I think that would be awesome! Imagine, a charcoal gray suit with a light gray and white blouse underneath popping out just enough for glimpse of a cool pattern. Or, how about a medium gray fitted dress that comes with a charcoal gray belt and a hint of ruffle just barely making an appearance at the collar, very delicate so it doesn’t take away from the structure of the dress. Oooo…that would be so pretty. Grays are a nice alternative to black, especially in suits.

Let’s hear it for the grays!

Okay, let me get back to the card. I wanted to recreate the pattern in the shirt onto a card. It’s got a really cool bold, graphic, retro feel all rolled up into one. And yes, there are stripes in the design. Hey, I told you that I really like stripes. They are so versatile to use not just in clothing, but my Thank You cards. Call me the “strip queen” if you want, I love them and they make me smile. 🙂

Anyhow, here is my card for today. Maybe tomorrow I’ll have something without stripes and in color. Guess you’ll have to wait and see.

And yes, I do take design requests.

Graphic Designer & Production Artist "From idea to page – flawless digital/print design & production."

Graphic Designer & Production Artist
“From idea to page – flawless digital/print design & production.”

08.01.14 Inspired by a shirt at work © 2014 Stacy Schilling

08.01.14 Inspired by a shirt at work
© 2014 Stacy Schilling

Leave a Reply

