Day 211: Learn how to push past the pain

I’ve been in pain for most of the day.

My stomach, back, and head has been bothering me all day. I’ve taken Ibuprofen throughout the day to help ease the pain, but for some reason they are not kicking the pain out of my system.

I did manage to push through my morning activities and work because I had to. I couldn’t give up or take a sick day. I had to figure out a way to put aside my pain and block it out so I could concentrate on what I was doing. I’ll admit that it was hard to do, but I somehow managed to.

Of course when I got home later, my body was so exhausted that I fell asleep on the couch for over an hour. I think that was my body’s way of saying, “I can’t do this anymore or push through all the pain, so let’s take a rest and see what happens.”

After taking time to recoup and eat a very light dinner (I mostly drank fluids), I picked myself up and parked my butt in the office chair to work on today’s card. I still wasn’t feel 100%, but I made myself push past the pain. I kept thinking that if I just create a card, then I could go back to laying on the couch and rest some more before crawling into bed.

That plan got pushed back when client contacted me about making some typography changes to a logo that I had created for them the day before. Shocked that they liked my design, I went ahead and made the changes before working on a logo for another client. I got so involved in creating logos that I almost forgot to create a card for today!

Although I’m still not feeling any better, and yes, I am drinking water to flush my system clean, I realize that if I don’t create card today, I’ll have to do two tomorrow. And I don’t want to be a day behind again.

The moral of the story: It’s really hard to do any kind of work when you don’t feel well and all you want to do is sleep or just be lazy, and that’s okay. However, if you really need to finish project, you’re going to have to dig deep within yourself to find what will help you temporarily ease the pain so you can function for a short while. It could be a nap, drinking more water, or just staring off into space for 10 minutes. Then telling yourself to “just do it”. But just don’t make yourself worse in the process.

Anyway, today’s card is inspired by a nautical dress. Normally I am not a fan of the nautical look, but I’m so tired and just want to get a card done so I can go to bed that I wanted a clean, simple design that wouldn’t require any heavy concentration. As you can tell from most of my work, I’m drawn to stripes, but mostly simple, clean designs. I find that sometimes it’s much harder to create a clean, simple design than a complicated or detailed one. Simple looks easy, but not always. You have to know where to put everything in the right location in order for the design to work. Plus, you have to choose the right font and color palate to match.

Okay, I’m starting to fall asleep so here is today’s card.

Good Night.

Graphic Designer & Production Artist "From idea to page – flawless digital/print design & production."

Graphic Designer & Production Artist
“From idea to page – flawless digital/print design & production.”

08.02.14 Inspired by a nautical dress © 2014 Stacy Schilling

08.02.14 Inspired by a nautical dress
© 2014 Stacy Schilling

Leave a Reply

