Day 215: Create an inspiration board for direction

Designers use inspiration boards to determine what direction to take when they are working on a client’s project.

A picture is worth a thousand words, and most designers are visual communicators. So an inspiration board is a great way to put up ideas on color, typography, layout, design, furniture, etc. for direction on how the client’s project should look and feel.

Pinterest is a great online inspiration board for working on a client’s project. Actually, the site is good for just about anything from decorating your home, to buying your wedding dress, planning a party, and so much more. It’s a place where designers, and others, can express themselves creatively without judgment.

It’s also a great place to step outside the box.

Anyhow, I took some time to look at other people’s inspiration boards on Pinterest before I designed today’s card. In my search, I was drawn to several boards and the one common denominator in all of them I looked at was color. Each board I was drawn to used gray and patterns in their work. I’m a huge fan of gray, and as you know, I love patterns. So, I combined the two into one really cool design, and then added a splash of color because I was inspired by a green pillow on a white chair.

In the card design, I used green to break up the paleness of the gray so it wouldn’t feel so monotone. Or dull.

Anyway, that’s my story and I’m sticking to it!

Graphic Designer & Production Artist "From idea to page – flawless digital/print design & production."

Graphic Designer & Production Artist
“From idea to page – flawless digital/print design & production.”

08.06.14 Inspired by inspiration boards © 2014 Stacy Schilling

08.06.14 Inspired by inspiration boards
© 2014 Stacy Schilling

 

Leave a Reply

