Day 223: Get back on the horse and just do it

I did not forgot to create a card yesterday.

I had plans all day and didn’t get home until eight o’clock at night. While I was getting settled, a friend texted me about going to see a movie, Step Up All In, and I decided to go because I had wanted to see it too.

Basically, it’s a continuation of the Step Up movie series where they brought back a lot of the characters from the previous movies. The acting was bad, the story line was predictable, the dancing could have used some improvement, but the finale dance was awesome. And…there were several dancers in the film from the show, So You Think You Can Dance.

I used to dance: hip hop, jazz, salsa, freestyle, swing, and modern dance styles. I am by far no professional dancer, nor do I claim to be. My creative side is more on the artistic fine art and design side, but I can dance. It’s just an area that I chose to pursue for my life. But pump up some really good music, and I just might start dancing for you.

Anyhow, let’s move onto the Thank You card instead.

Since I didn’t get a card designed yesterday, I have two to share with you today.

The first card is inspired by a cake I saw on an episode of The Next Great Baker, where two teams competing for a spot in the finale had to recreate a cake based on the one they did for their audition onto the show. I took the design from one of the cakes and transposed it into a card.

The second card is inspired by a dress and bracelet because I was drawn to the color palate. Something about the outfit done in black and tan caught my attention, and my eyes focused directly on a flower belt. So I recreated the look into a card.

Okay, here are the cards. 

Graphic Designer & Production Artist "From idea to page – flawless digital/print design & production."

Graphic Designer & Production Artist
“From idea to page – flawless digital/print design & production.”

 

08.13.14 Inspired by a cake © 2014 Stacy Schilling

08.13.14 Inspired by a cake
© 2014 Stacy Schilling

08.14.14 Inspired by a dress and bracelet © 2014 Stacy Schilling

08.14.14 Inspired by a dress and bracelet
© 2014 Stacy Schilling

Leave a Reply

