Day 240: Make the best of an unpleasant situation

I woke up with every good intention to be somewhere I needed to be this morning, but shortly after arriving to my destination, I began to fell ill. I tried to stay and make it through, but my body couldn’t handle it any longer, so I packed up my stuff and headed home for the couch.

After about an hour and a half of just resting, no nap for me because I was afraid I wouldn’t wake up in time for work, helped make me feel better.

I think my body has gotten to a point where it just needs a good day of rest and relaxation before diving into life again.

I have plans this week to take a break starting tomorrow, but a deep cleaning of my house is in order. However, after a good night’s rest and turning off the alarm and phones, hopefully I will wake up refreshed and energized for the day.

Sometimes in life, we just don’t feel good but still need to keep moving because it’s just not possible to stop. The best thing we can do for ourselves (body and mind) is just find a few minutes of time in the day when things are not working out and just do nothing. It could be for five minutes, an hour, or even a day, but our bodies aren’t meant to keep going, and going, and going, and going like the Energizer Bunny. We don’t have a stop button, but we can stop ourselves from becoming burnt out in life.

As for today’s card, it’s inspired by a business card. I loved the simplicity of the design and how the negative space works with the text. The design feels clean and airy. There’s something so powerful in a design when it’s done in black and white. Black is a very strong, dependable color while white is pure and clean, but putting the two together into one cohesive design can really make a person stop dead in their tracks. Black and white artwork sometimes can be difficult to pull off, especially when the design is so minimal. However, when it’s done right, it can look amazing and really create an impact.

Take black and white photos for example. There is nothing better than looking at black and white photos that were shot with a film camera over 50 years ago. You can try to reproduce a digital image in Photoshop to look like it was shot back then, but it cannot compare with the original. Black and white photos are so powerful and capitative that they really drawn you into the image.

Personally, I feel black and white imaginary can really make a powerful statement and are more interesting to look at than color images.

Anyhow, here is my card for today.

Graphic Designer & Production Artist "From idea to page – flawless digital/print design & production."

Graphic Designer & Production Artist
“From idea to page – flawless digital/print design & production.”

08.31.14 Inspired by a business card © 2014 Stacy Schilling

08.31.14 Inspired by a business card
© 2014 Stacy Schilling

Leave a Reply

