Day 298: Transition periods are interesting

Transition periods are interesting in the sense that you’re about to leave the comfort of the place you’re in for something completely different, but you’re not entirely sure where and when.

Right now, our weather is in a transition period.

Yesterday it was an Indian summer with sunny 80 degree weather, and today it’s in the mid-70s with rain and wind. By the end of the week, it will be in the 40s and continue getting colder as winter approaches. I’m really not prepared for this transition, nor do I like it by any means.

My life feels like it’s in a transition period, but I just don’t know where it’s going and when it will end. This card series is in a transition period as the design challenge is slowly coming to the end day-by-day, and I have no idea what I’m going to create for the remaining cards or what will inspire me.

Transition periods can be great, or they can suck big time depending on where you end up. I think my transition period will end on a high note, but I’m not holding my breath by any means. So instead, I’m focusing my energy on this design challenge which brings me to today’s design that is inspired by another designer.

I loved the color palate that was used and the simplicity of the design with the leaves. I tried to create the same look into a Thank You, but my results were not as good as the designer’s original work. The designer’s work looks like it was done by hand, maybe as a watercolor painting while my design was created in Illustrator.

So, here is today’s design. Let me know what you think.

Graphic Designer & Production Artist "From idea to page – flawless digital/print design & production."

Graphic Designer & Production Artist
“From idea to page – flawless digital/print design & production.”

10.28.14 Inspired by another designer © 2014 Stacy Schilling

10.28.14 Inspired by another designer
© 2014 Stacy Schilling

Leave a Reply

